inx515xhell

Re: MGMT w/ Radio Moscow

Post by inx515xhell » Wed Sep 24, 2008 8:18 pm

that's a dope flyer.

Smoking Guns

Post by Smoking Guns » Wed Sep 24, 2008 10:26 pm

yeah. i'm down with that flyer.

however... i really hate the "animal head on people" trend.

Potter

Post by Potter » Fri Sep 26, 2008 5:45 am

Wait, the trend that has been around for 1000+ years? Oh yea, it'll never last.

Dope flier.

Potter

Post by Potter » Fri Sep 26, 2008 9:01 pm

Um you know the egyptians right? Ancient civilization of architectural wizards. Built the pyramids. Mummies. Brain sucking. Etc. .. so on so forth. Yea. They worship a god named Anubis. Still with me? Well this particular god had the body of a pharoah and the head of a black dog I believe. He shows up in various wall paintings called hieroglyphics. It was the language of communication in egypt circa 1000 b.c. or something. I'm not very good with dates. There were others with heads of falcons, owls, cats etc. . .

Regardless. Those took place oh, about 3000 years ago. I wouldn't exactly call animal heads on people a "trend".

'sayin. Knowledge is power!

Smoking Guns

Post by Smoking Guns » Fri Sep 26, 2008 9:56 pm

jesus.

seriously? you droppin' some knowledge?

talking down to people is cool. (ps- most people consider anubis a jackal god, not a "black dog god")

yes, people have been anthropomorphising animals since they first saw an animal. yes, egyptian gods were originally depicted as animals, eventually taking forms such as human bodies with animal heads and even some that looked entirely human. yes, there are animal spirits in pretty much EVERY culture, many of which are humanized versions of animals. and yes, for the most part, i like how they look.